What I Listen to While I Write

I’ve found that when I’m writing my book, nearly any type of noise distracts me. I can’t have the TV going {even in the background} and since I’m already such a musical person, playing music while I write is completely out of the question. So what do I do to keep myself from being distracted by any and all sounds the world around me makes while I’m trying to concentrate?

I listen to thunder and rain. It’s perfect for me, actually, as I absolutely love the rain anyway. Double win, because my book takes place in an overcast/mostly rainy setting. The soundtrack makes it perfect to get my mindset where the characters are- hearing what they might be hearing.

The best version of thunder and rain I’ve found is Relax With’s Thundering Rainstorm. The rain actually sounds like rain {instead of a cheap rainstick as so many often do}, and the thunder is perfectly spaced and sounds real. There are also a few bird sounds intermittently placed, which adds to its charm. I also love it because it doesn’t have any music enhancement- it’s strictly nature. {No, I am not trying to sell this product- I just love it and use it so often that I thought I’d share!} So if you’re looking for a good background soundtrack to write with, I encourage you to check this one out. It’s been around for a while, but it still tops my list.

What types of sounds/music do you listen to while writing? Do you prefer silence? I’d love to know your thoughts!

11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “What I Listen to While I Write

  1. I always listen to music when I write but of late its been distracting me. I wrote an entire novel listening to mostly David Bowie and when I write poetry I like listening to rap music, even though I don’t like rap that much. I like the sound of rain, but I think thunder would be distracting for me, personally. But I suppose each person’s boat floats on different things.

    • You know, I honestly thought the thunder would be distracting at first, too, but then I listened to it as I wrote, and it just worked for me and for the mindset I needed to be in. And while I love all music, I personally, get too distracted by it while I’m writing, so I think it’s completely awesome that it actually helped you. Music is so inspirational, I wish it didn’t end up distracting me! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing what works for you!

  2. Hey! Check out http://www.soaking.net You can get free instrumental soaking music with or without words. Might be something you would enjoy.

  3. I can’t seem to write or study with music on either. However, background noise works OK for me, like sitting in a caffee or something similar. You may find this useful, I sometime use it to relax. http://www.rainymood.com/
    Enjoy! :9

  4. When I write, I listen to rain storms, but my favorite is the ocean’s waves. It relaxes my brain and transports me to the world within my book. Keep that rain pounding down!

Penny for your thoughts...

