Errors Here, Errors There, Errors Everywhere!

The written word is everywhere- in commercials, on signs, on posters, on marquees, etc. It’s everywhere. But as I write my books and continue editing, I have noticed the written word in the world more and more. And what’s alarming is that I have actually noticed the written word in the world is more and more misspelled or incorrect.

I guess it makes sense. You spend all your time writing and/or editing and you’re bound to see words more as they are supposed to be and less the misspelled way. At least, this is what has happened to me. Now when I see signs and things misspelled or incorrect, they’re actually glaringly obvious.

Do you notice this as well, or is it just me?

 

3 Comments

Filed under Tiffany's Life, Writing

3 responses to “Errors Here, Errors There, Errors Everywhere!

  1. To err is human. To criticize the errors is human, too. 🙂

    • I completely agree. I make errors constantly! I only meant that I’m actually noticing the errors out in the world. I know a lot of them have always been out there, it’s just that they’ve seemed to go unnoticed by me. I guess the writer in me is finally opening her eyes out there in the world of signs, marquees and things now! 🙂

  2. At one of my old jobs, there was a sign that said “Out of sevice area”. Bugged me so much. mostly because it MADE no sense for that sign to be there in the first place!

Penny for your thoughts...

